Official holidays

Official holidays in Switzerland differ from one canton to another, however some are common between nearly all cantons, they are as follow:

  • 1-2 January: New Year holidays
  • Eastern Holiday (good Friday and Easter Monday, date changes each year)
  •  Ascension Day (date changes each year)
  • Whitmonday (or Pentecost Monday)
  • Swiss National Day (1st of August)
  • Christmas Holiday (25-26 December)